FXOpen — South Africa
Key facts (8)
- Who actually onboards you
- Offshore FXOpen Markets Ltd
- Licence number
- not stated
- Established
- 2005group
- Min deposit, USD
- not stated
- Platforms
- MT4 · MT5 · TickTrader
- Local funding
- Cards, bank wire, Skrill, Neteller, BTC, USDT; n
- Max leverage
- 500geo
- EURUSD
- not priced
This broker against the South Africa middle (60 of 104)
| FXOpen | South Africa median | |
|---|---|---|
| Round turn, USD | 1.5 USD | 7.0 USD |
| Min deposit, USD | no data | 50.0 USD |
| Max leverage | 500geo | 500.0geo |
| Withdrawal, h | same business day if received before 12:00 GMT; otherwise next business day hgroup | 24.0 h |
| EURUSD, standard | not priced | 1.0 pips |
| EURUSD, raw | 0.0 pipsgroup | 0.0 pips |
| Established | 2005group | 2009.5 |
| Platforms | 3 | 3.0 |
Accepts residents of South Africa
Through an offshore entity
Score (6/6 axes)
Ranked against brokers measured on every axis
Licence check
Who actually onboards you
Offshore FXOpen Markets Ltd
Offshore entity
Offshore FXOpen Markets Ltd (Nevis/St Kitts) serves SA retail; not the FCA/CySEC entities.
Cost per round turn, and the South Africa middle (60 of 104)
raw+commission
The numbers across South Africa
Round-turn cost, USD (60 of 104)
Median 7.0 · Range 1.5–20.0 USD
Minimum deposit, USD (36 of 104)
Median 50.0 · Range 0.0–1000.0 USD
What each account gives you
Micro/cent (from USD 1), STP, ECN (from USD 100 intl), Crypto (from USD 10).
What the broker publishes about payouts
Reviews
FXOpen holds a Trustpilot rating of 3.7 out of 5 stars globally
Trading software and asset classes (3)
MT4 · MT5 · TickTrader
FX, metals, indices, share CFDs, crypto CFDs.
Trading profits and South Africa tax
SARS taxes residents on worldwide income. Frequent/active forex trading is generally taxed as income at the individual's marginal rate (progressive 18%-45%), not as capital gains. Active traders typically register for provisional tax (IRP6 due end-Aug and end-Feb, plus a third top-up if owing) and file the annual ITR12; trading-related expenses are deductible. Rates/brackets change annually - pres
Where it wins, where it loses
Pros (3)
- Round turn 1.5 USD against a South Africa median of 7.0
- Swap-free account available
- Withdrawal published at same business day if received before 12:00 GMT; otherwise next business day h
Cons (3)
- No local licence: the client is onboarded by a foreign entity
- Carries a regulator warning; excluded from beginner and most-established lists
- Minimum deposit for this country not published
The rest of the shortlist in South Africa (6)
Where it does not serve
United States, Japan, Belgium
Methodology
2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes · reviews 25%, cost 20%, safety 20%, payouts 15%, track_record 10%, platforms 10%
Verified · what changed · sources (4)
Checked: 2026-07-09
- fxopen.com domain
- sashares.co.za/fxopen-review page
- tradersunion.com domain
- forexbrokers.com domain
FAQ (5)
Does FXOpen accept residents of South Africa?
Through an offshore entity.
Which entity onboards a South Africa client of FXOpen?
Offshore FXOpen Markets Ltd
What licence does FXOpen hold for South Africa?
No licence number is published for this country.
What does one EURUSD lot cost at FXOpen?
1.5 USD per round turn against a South Africa median of 7.0 USD, measured on 60 of 104 brokers.
How long does a withdrawal from FXOpen take?
same business day if received before 12:00 GMT; otherwise next business day hours as published. Withdrawal forms received before 12:00 (GMT) will be processed the same business day.