IG Markets — South Africa
Key facts (8)
- Who actually onboards you
- IG Markets South Africa Ltd
- Licence number
- 41393
- Established
- 1974group
- Min deposit, USD
- not stated
- Platforms
- IG web/app · ProRealTime · L2 Dealer · MT4
- Local funding
- Cards, bank transfer, PayPal.
- Max leverage
- not stated
- EURUSD
- 0.6 pipsgroup
This broker against the South Africa middle (60 of 104)
| IG Markets | South Africa median | |
|---|---|---|
| Round turn, USD | 6.0 USD | 7.0 USD |
| Min deposit, USD | no data | 50.0 USD |
| Max leverage | no data | 500.0geo |
| Withdrawal, h | 1-3 business days hgeo | 24.0 h |
| EURUSD, standard | 0.6 pipsgroup | 1.0 pips |
| EURUSD, raw | not priced | 0.0 pips |
| Established | 1974group | 2009.5 |
| Platforms | 5 | 3.0 |
Accepts residents of South Africa
Through an offshore entity
Score (6/6 axes)
Ranked against brokers measured on every axis
Licence check
Who actually onboards you
IG Markets South Africa Ltd
Entity not established
Historically served locally via IG Markets South Africa Ltd; note IG recently stopped onboarding new clients to this entity, serving via international entities.
Cost per round turn, and the South Africa middle (60 of 104)
standard
The numbers across South Africa
Round-turn cost, USD (60 of 104)
Median 7.0 · Range 1.5–20.0 USD
Minimum deposit, USD (36 of 104)
Median 50.0 · Range 0.0–1000.0 USD
What each account gives you
CFD/share dealing; retail. Min bank transfer ~$0, card ~$300.
What the broker publishes about payouts
Reviews
4.6/5 from 1,900+ reviews
Trading software and asset classes (5)
IG web/app · ProRealTime · L2 Dealer · MT4 · TradingView
17,000+ markets: FX, indices, shares, commodities.
Trading profits and South Africa tax
SARS taxes residents on worldwide income. Frequent/active forex trading is generally taxed as income at the individual's marginal rate (progressive 18%-45%), not as capital gains. Active traders typically register for provisional tax (IRP6 due end-Aug and end-Feb, plus a third top-up if owing) and file the annual ITR12; trading-related expenses are deductible. Rates/brackets change annually - pres
Where it wins, where it loses
Pros (2)
- Round turn 6.0 USD against a South Africa median of 7.0
- Licensed locally: 41393
Cons (2)
- Carries a regulator warning; excluded from beginner and most-established lists
- Minimum deposit for this country not published
The rest of the shortlist in South Africa (6)
Where it does not serve
United States, Canada, Japan, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Russia, Iraq, Afghanistan, Yemen, Cuba, Myanmar, Sudan, Libya
Methodology
2 + 3 × weighted mean of six axes · reviews 25%, cost 20%, safety 20%, payouts 15%, track_record 10%, platforms 10%
Verified · what changed · sources (2)
Checked: 2026-07-09
- ig.com/za page
- financemagnates.com domain
FAQ (5)
Does IG Markets accept residents of South Africa?
Through an offshore entity.
Which entity onboards a South Africa client of IG Markets?
IG Markets South Africa Ltd
What licence does IG Markets hold for South Africa?
Licence 41393.
What does one EURUSD lot cost at IG Markets?
6.0 USD per round turn against a South Africa median of 7.0 USD, measured on 60 of 104 brokers.
How long does a withdrawal from IG Markets take?
1-3 business days hours as published. Processing Time for Withdrawals|1-3 business days